Listen Live

Adam Sandler has been named the latest recipient of the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor.

>> Read more trending news

The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts announced Sandler’s name Tuesday.

The Mark Twain Prize is given to well-known people who have “had an impact on American Society,” as Twain did, The New York Times reported.

Deborah Rutter, the center’s president, said Sandler “created characters that have made us laugh, cry and cry from laughing.”

A Kennedy Center news release cited Sandler’s career, which started on “Saturday Night Live” and evolved to films and music over the past 30 years.

Sandler is currently starring in “Hustle” on Netflix, which garnered the comedian a Gotham Award for the role of Stanley Sugerman.

He has also received several nominations and awards for his role as Howard Ratner in the film “Uncut Gems,” the Kennedy Center said.

Sandler, despite his goofiness, has nine People’s Choice Awards, five MTV Movie Awards, and 10 Kids’ Choice Awards. He has also been nominated for a Golden Globe Award, four Emmy Awards and three Grammy Awards.

Happy Madison Productions, founded by Sandler, has produced several films and television shows including “Mr. Deeds,” “Hotel Transylvania,” “The Goldbergs” and “Rules of Engagement.”

Sandler will receive the Mark Twain Prize during a ceremony at the center’s Concert Hall on March 19, The Washington Post reported. The broadcast information has not been released.

The Mark Twain Prize has been given by the Kennedy Center every year since 1998, except for 2020 and 2021 when the COVID-19 pandemic forced its cancellation, the Times reported.

Past honorees include:

  • Richard Pryor (1998)
  • Jonathan Winters (1999)
  • Carl Reiner (2000)
  • Whoopi Goldberg (2001)
  • Bob Newhart (2002)
  • Lily Tomlin (2003)
  • Lorne Michaels (2004)
  • Steve Martin (2005)
  • Neil Simon (2006)
  • Billy Crystal (2007)
  • George Carlin (2008)
  • Bill Cosby (2009, rescinded in 2019)
  • Tina Fey (2010)
  • Will Ferrell (2011)
  • Ellen DeGeneres (2012)
  • Carol Burnett (2013)
  • Jay Leno (2014)
  • Eddie Murphy (2015)
  • Bill Murray (2016)
  • David Letterman (2017)
  • Julia Louis-Dreyfus (2018)
  • Dave Chapelle (2019)
  • Jon Stewart (2022)