Listen Live

JERUSALEM – Israel’s Cabinet has voted to ban Israelis from traveling to the United States, Canada and eight other nations as the omicron coronavirus variant spreads worldwide.

>> Read more trending news

According to The Associated Press, the move to add the countries – which also include Germany, Italy, Switzerland, Portugal, Hungary, Belgium, Turkey and Morocco – to Israel’s “red list” is expected to take effect at midnight Wednesday once the measure receives final approval from a parliamentary committee.

>> Omicron: Moderna says booster dose raises neutralizing antibodies against variant

“Travel to a country on the red (highest-risk) list is banned for Israeli citizens and permanent residents, unless they have permission from the Exceptions Committee,” the Israeli government’s website says.

Israel already has banned foreign nationals from entering the country, according to the AP. In addition, Israelis who return home from traveling abroad must quarantine, the news agency reported.

>> Omicron: Regeneron says current antibody cocktail has ‘diminished potency’ against variant

As of Sunday, Israel had reported 175 omicron cases, the AP reported. More than 69% of Israelis have received at least one dose of a coronavirus vaccine, while nearly 63% of residents are fully vaccinated, according to Oxford University’s Our World in Data project.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.

More coronavirus pandemic coverage:

>> Coronavirus: How long between exposure to the virus and the start of symptoms?

>> What are your chances of coming into contact with someone who has COVID-19? This tool will tell you

>> How to not let coronavirus pandemic fatigue set in, battle back if it does